New York State Democratic Rural Conference

RESOLUTION TO SUPPORT THE CONSTRUCTION OF A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY IN ST. LAWRENCE, FRANKLIN, LEWIS, JEFFER|SON AND CLINTION COUNTIES AND URGE THE ASSISTANCE OF ELECTED STATE AND FEDERAL OFFICIALS TO MAKE IT A REALITY

Whereas, the economic impact of North Country transportation improvements is a key component of the North Country Transportation Study, and

Whereas, the economic development impact analysis has measured the value to the regional economy of efficiency gains through user benefits such as reductions in travel time, reductions in operating costs, and reductions in accidents due to improved safety, and

Whereas, the gains through increased social and economic development opportunities due to improved transportation access will reduce unemployment rates, reduce government transfer payments such as social welfare and unemployment insurance, and increase employment in the region, and

Whereas, the transportation improvements can enhance access to labor, customer, tourism and supplier markets, as well as to intermodal transportation facilities, making the overall region more attractive to transportation-dependent industries, and

Whereas, the construction of a four-lane highway within the boundaries of St. Lawrence, Franklin, Lewis, Clinton and Jefferson Counties will begin to address the transportation improvements necessary to foster such economic growth, and

Whereas, our elected New York and Congressional representatives can be assured that the New York State Democratic Rural Conference (DRC) adamantly supports such four lane highway construction,

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, that the DRC urges New York State Acting Commissioner of Transportation, Mr. Stanley Gee, to cooperate with local transportation taskforce groups to push for the construction of a four-lane highway within St. Lawrence County, and

Be It Further Resolved that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Acting Commissioner Gee, New York State Department of Transportation; Governor Paterson; New York State Senators Griffo, Aubertine and Little; New York State Assembly Members Scozzafava. Russell and Duprey; United States Senators Schumer and Gillebrand; Congressman McHugh; St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton and Jefferson Counties; the Development Authority of the North Country; and the Northern Corridor Transportation Group

Shilip a. Jones Bv:

Title: Secretary of the DRCDate: May 31, 2009